About us

Make a Move is not
a dance company…
but we do make
people dance.

Creative movement, music, therapeutic dance and talking therapy are all used in innovative combinations to encourage healing of mind and body. We inspire laughter, fun and happiness. But it is serious stuff – we improve people’s mental health.

Meet the team

Our Make a Movers

Meet our amazing team of experts and professionals who are passionate about helping
people to maintain positive mental health.

Michelle Rochester

Founder & CEO

Michelle’s passions throughout her life have been dancing and improving people’s lives. She has
successfully combined her two passions in founding Make a Move. Michelle develops and designs all Make a Move’s projects and is the driving force behind all our work.

Michelle@makeamove.org.uk

Orla Nolan

Chief Operations Manager

Orla has had a varied career, initially training as a teacher, working in the financial services industry for 15 years, later working behind the scenes in education before joining Michelle to found Make a Move. Orla is our primary fundraiser as well as providing technical and back office management.

Orla@makeamove.org.uk

Sarah Haddow

Assistant CEO & Body Movement Psychotherapist

Sarah leads our work with mums and has considerable research expertise in perinatal mental health. Her work has been published in several research papers and a book.

Sarah@makeamove.org.uk

Katie Brown

Corporate Partnerships

Katie was a participant on a Moving on Up! course and was so impressed with the benefit to her mental health that she offered her services. With over 15 years’ experience in the corporate sector she now leads our work championing positive mental health in businesses.

Katie@makeamove.org.uk

Brian Madigan

Composer & Music Consultant

Brian has been composing music for dance since he began collaborating with choreographers as a music student in London in the late 1980s. He formed Dance Notes in 1992 and teamed up with Michelle Rochester around 2008 to further develop resources for dance in schools. He has run workshops for Make a Move and his music is integrated within our work.

brian@makeamove.org.uk

Find out more at www.madmusik.co.uk

Kara Herbert

Practitioner

Kara is a dance and yoga practitioner with a wealth of experience. She enjoys all styles of dance and yoga and continuously re-energises her practice by trying new things. This exploration through her own practice and further training influences her teaching. She is adept at delivering sessions to people of all ages, bodies and experience, and always aims to create a relaxed and fun atmosphere to her sessions while challenging and embracing the needs of everyone.

kara@makeamove.org.uk

Find out more at www.karayogadance.com

Dawn Adams

Communications Officer

dawn@makeamove.org.uk

Katie Monkshaw

Moving on Up! Liaison

katiemonkshaw@makeamove.org.uk

Paula Smith

Practitioner for people with dementia

paula@makeamove.org.uk

Make a Move has an exceptional approach…and the energy they put into us as people at the workshops was simply incredible.

Business client